It's possible to change a User's role after they've joined an account. Roles can be increased or decreased depending on requirements.
Go to Settings and then Users, and alongside the user you wish to upgrade, click on the three dots and select Edit profile:
In the following screen, look at the Account and sub account access section, where you will see the accounts and sub-accounts to which the user has access, along with their respective roles on each account:
Click on the down arrow next to the access level in the account in which you want to amend the user's role, and then select the required role from the resulting drop-down menu:
You can also remove a user's access to specific accounts or sub accounts by clicking on Remove role on the right hand side of the relevant account item. If you remove a user from all accounts, they will no longer have access to the web portal.