What are the benefits of using Sub-Accounts?
With the introduction of sub-accounts, we have removed some pain points for many customers. Previously, customers had to create users as the sending entity which also meant that all groups, contacts, templates, settings etc were effectively owned by the user. If you disabled a user, you also disabled their data and settings.
For instance, if you required an API key, you needed to create a user. If you wanted to register an email for Email to SMS you had to create a user, including obsolete user credentials. The following list outlines the many benefits of embracing the use of sub-accounts.
For more information on Sub-Accounts, see this article
Benefits of Sub Accounts:
- Company divisions
- Create a sub-account per department or work function for easy management and reporting on teams
- Focused reporting
- View messaging reports by work function instead of user
- Shared access
- Multiple users can access the same sub-account meaning they can share an inbox and contacts
- Messaging logs display which user sent the message, thus removing any confusion
- Team members no longer have to share credentials as users can easily be invited or removed from accounts without impacting any sending functionality
- Passwords on shared credentials are no longer at risk when a team member leaves the company as each individual has their own credentials
- Business Continuity
- Team members leaving the organisation can be removed from a sub-account without impacting any other users
- API Key Management
- One or more developers can be given access to only the sub-accounts with API keys
- You can create multiple API keys on a sub-account or split your testing and production keys across multiple accounts
- Email to SMS
- Email to SMS registrations no longer have to be user accounts
- Segregate your Email to SMS team members into a separate Email to SMS specific account
- Allow a user with their own account register their email against that account so whether they send from the web or their email, it all gets logged against the account