Contact Us

Setting up your Calendar for Calendar Automation

In this article:


If you are on a post-paid plan, MessageMedia allows you to link your Microsoft, Google, or Apple Calendars in order to automatically send appointment reminders and other appointment-related messages. To have this feature activated on your account, contact our support team at support@messagemedia.com.au


Once you have been granted access to Calendar Automation, you'll need to connect a calendar to MessageMedia. To do this, navigate to Calendar Automation to get started:


Connecting your calendar

The first time you visit the Calendar Automation page, you will see a prompt to connect your calendar. Select from iCloud, Google, Office 365, Exchange, or Outlook.com. When you click on Connect, you will be asked to authenticate into your account, agree to Terms and Conditions, and provide MessageMedia access to your calendar.


Once you have selected the appropriate calendar, you will need to follow the prompts on screen to complete the connection. This will include giving approval for "Cronofy" to access your calendar:


Once your calendar is connected, you will see it appear on the right hand side of the Calendar Automation screen. You can disconnect this calendar by clicking on Disconnect:


Add phone numbers to events

In order to send messages to your customers relating to events in your calendar, the customer's phone number must be at the start of the event's title in your calendar, including the country code. If an event does not have a phone number (or if the number is not at the start of the event title), a message will not be sent. You can use this to exclude events for which you would prefer not to send messages:


Hint: Remember to include the "+" in the international prefix


Adding additional calendars

If you want to link more than one calendar to MessageMedia, just set up a sub-account under your parent account. Each sub-account can have one calendar linked to it. Please get in contact with support for help with this.


Changing calendars

If you no longer want your calendar to be connected, simply click on the Disconnect button. When you disconnect your calendar, all your Calendar Automations will be deleted and no more messages will be sent. After this, you will be able to link a different calendar and create Calendar Automations for that new calendar.


Not what you're after? Try these articles...